Response to 4/19 Sun Article

I was proud to use my first appearance in the Baltimore Sun to tell voters how committed I am to their concerns and bringing problem solving government back to our county. However, I am disappointed that Councilman Ball so easily discounts my service to our country in the United States Air Force as “limited experience” and suggests that I have “not done a great deal” in the community to warrant a council seat. I don’t intend to get into the muck of attack campaigning over the next year and a half, but I hope the quote from Councilman Ball does not reflect a discounting of the experience and leadership that comes from serving in our military. I also hope that Councilman Ball respects all of the work that is done outside of the council chamber that may go unrecognized by someone in his position. This work is what makes our county such a great place to live.

I will say that I have experience enough to know that in these times the county should use every opportunity to help keep people in their homes. In that same Howard section, there was a notice that the council will not take the opportunity of increased private development to lower our property tax bills as prescribed by the Constant Yield Tax Rate. Measures like these, no matter how small the incremental difference it may make, are irresponsible and show a hardened heart toward all of those that are struggling to keep up with their mortgage payments. If I were elected to the council I would oppose such measures and use this time as an opportunity to ease the tax burdens wherever possible. I would suggest that Councilman Ball use his many appearances in our newspaper to come out against provisions like these rather than attack people like me.

2 Responses to Response to 4/19 Sun Article

  1. MoreData says:

    Please be careful here. It’s been proven time and again that increased residential development does not pay for its self in tax revenues. The costs associated are simply too high.

    If that’s what you’re referring to.

    • jordan2010 says:

      Mona,
      Thank you for your comment! I see the additional revenue as an opportunity to review the tax burden on our private home-owners and whether that may be lessened. You are absolutely correct that residential development often requires county services in excess of new taxation, but we also have corporate development that, through additional taxation on a corporate entity, may create tax revenue in excess of county costs. My concern is that there is very little dialogue here. I think it is the duty of the County Council to bring attention to these measures and explain to the citizens of the county exactly why taxes aren’t being reduced.

      Please keep commenting and letting me know your ideas.

Leave a Reply

